Book Kvetch


Shop Indie Bookstores

About Book Kvetch

I Love to Read!

2013 Sibert Medal and YALSA Nonfiction Awards

Posted by Rebecca G. Aguilar, M.Ed. on January 28, 2013

2013 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal, YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults, Newbery Honor Medal

Bomb by Steve SheinkinBomb by Steve Sheinkin

ISBN-13: 9781596434875
Publisher: Roaring Book Press
Publication date: 9/4/2012
Pages: 272

Congratulations to Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World's Most Dangerous Weapon, written by Steve Sheinkin and published by Roaring Book Press! The book of children’s nonfiction has been awarded the 2013 Sibert Medal and the YALSA Nonfiction Award as well as a Newbery Honor Medal.

Distinguished books for children and young adults were announced Monday, including the Caldecott, Newbery, Coretta Scott King and Printz medals, at the Youth Media Awards during the American Library Association (ALA) 2013 Midwinter Meeting.

Much ballyhoo also to honor books and finalists in nonfiction and informational book categories!

The three Sibert Honor Books: Electric Ben: The Amazing Life and Times of Benjamin Franklin, written and illustrated by Robert Byrd and published by Dial Books for Young Readers; Moonbird: A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95, written by Phillip M. Hoose and published by Farrar Straus Giroux Books for Young Readers; and Titanic: Voices from the Disaster, written by Deborah Hopkinson and published by Scholastic Press.

Four wonderful books were finalists for the YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award: Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different, written by Karen Blumenthal, published by Feiwel & Friends; Moonbird: A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95, written by Phillip Hoose, published by Farrar Straus Giroux; Titanic: Voices from the Disaster, written by Deborah Hopkinson, published by Scholastic Press; and We’ve Got a Job: The 1963 Birmingham Children’s March, written by Cynthia Levinson, published by Peachtree Publishers.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children was awarded to This Is Not My Hat, illustrated and written by Jon Klassen and published by Candlewick Press.

The John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature was awarded to The One and Only Ivan, written by Katherine Applegate, illustrated by Patricia Castelao and published by HarperCollins Children’s Books.

For a complete list of the ALA Youth Media Awards for 2013, please visit American Library Association.

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Copyright © 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 Book Kvetch. All Rights Reserved.